week 4 … L-E-A-R-N!

During this week’s lectures we discussed the acronym LEARN. This is a method for reflection. It is defined as follows:

L- look back

E- elaborate and describe

A – analyze outcome

R – revise the approach

N – New trial

During my 5 weeks here at Niagara College, I have discovered many new things about myself that I did not know before. I am also taking classes that are completely new to me. A reflection that I can take into account would be an exam that I took for my CLIN1130 class. I received a 71% on this exam, it being the worse grade in my 5 year post secondary education. I was devastated over the mark, and vowed to not only do better next time, but find ways to do better. Here I can implement to LEARN acronym:

L – I did horrible, to me, on an exam I thought I was very prepared for.

E – I need to reflect on this mark, because I do not want my average being in the 70’s. I thought I had studied the appropriate materials when clearly I was wrong.

A – what influenced this experience was the fact I studied what the book told me. I needed to read “between the lines” and understand more scenario than terminology. This was a negative experience because I did not do well; however, positive because now I know how to study for this type of exam.

R – as I revive my approach, I now know that I need to change what and when I study. Instead of falling sleep with a book in my hand I need to understand the scenarios based on the readings. I need to implement my knowledge into real life action. This way, I can understand better the scenarios being asked of me. Since I did not know that the test would be scenarios. I assumed that it would be what was in the books, which now I know, is very wrong.

N – my new trial will be when I take my next exam. I have a grade in mind that I would like to achieve now that I know what it is exactly that I need to know. I know I will do better next time now that I have reflected on this process!

Allison

Leave a comment